Food-Loose

This weekend I did two things worth reporting.  One – I saw the movie “Eat Pray Love,” which was a great story about a woman searching for self-knowledge and self-peace.  I give it a thumbs up.  Two – I ate.  Over-ate, to be exact.  Darn that movie and its scenes set in Italy with all the pasta, and pizza, and……more pasta.  I went directly from the theater to the local Italian restaurant for a sheet of lasagna.

And then, there was the bacon, and I’m not talking about this kind of Bacon:

Part way through the weekend, after trying everything on the buffet at a Saturday afternoon bridal shower (including – you guessed it – more pasta), I called my sister for some intervention.  She has official-like letters after her name, so I always listen to her when it comes to food.

A Note From Debbie, BS, CDM, CFPP

If you want to make healthy food choices with ease, trust yourself.  Use your inner wisdom.  And, don’t be fooled by advertising.  Information from the 36 billion dollar food marketing industry has been shoved down our esophagus so far and fast that it is lodged in our pyloric sphincter.

Eat foods that are as much from their natural state as possible.  No ingredient lists to review on the packaging.  If you are worrying about pesticides and injected chemicals in foods that look natural…..we will save that for another discussion. For now, know this: we are smart and we can trust ourselves. Carrot = Carrot.  No easy button needed.

If you can cut it loose from the ground or a tree, go for it.  It’s what I call Food-Loose. 

After a talk with my sister, I went home, made a salad, and danced around the kitchen singing the song.  Come on, you’ve gotta remember.

♫ ♪ I get this feeling…That time’s just holding me down…I’ll hit the ceiling…Or else I’ll tear up this town…Tonight I gotta cut…Loose, Footloose…Kick off your Sunday shoes…♫ ♪

And for full disclosure, I also sang the part at the end that goes Everybody cut..Everybody cut…dunt dunt…Everybond cut footloose Food Loose as I was slicing and dicing the veggies.  I’m weird.  I know.

We probably spend more time staring into our closets picking out what tops to wear than planning our menus.  What goes into our bodies is more important than what goes on them.  We are what we eat, so Food-Loose will occasionally be featured on this blog. 

Is food choice an important part of your life?  Does eating healthy come easy to you, or is making good food choices difficult or confusing?

I have a tough week ahead…and lots in store to talk about.  My dad is having lung surgery tomorrow, so if you have connections above, look up and shout out a little prayer for him to the Big Man.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Wow. It depends on the day. Food choices are very important to me but I am not obsessive. I actually think it’s not just about the ‘healthy’ food, it’s about ALL food and making healthy choices over a period of time. For instance, I am am not going to have dessert every night, nor am I going to have french fries every day but I will never eliminate them. I find that I am enjoying learning about new food types and working on making things more healthy (sometimes so that if I do eat the fries and dessert, there is a balance). For instance, I am giving vegan recipes and food items a try. They are really good whole foods but I am not a vegan or vegetarian. There is so much to learn and while you learn, you can eat. It’s a perfect combo for me. 😉

    Reply

    • Good points. I think the big change and learning curve for me was becoming knowledgable and conscience about what I was eating. Balance is always key. A girl can’t live without chocolate and peanut butter pie, but like you say, not every day. Good for you trying creative cooking. I don’t think I’ve ever had a vegan meal, but probably did by chance and didn’t realize it.

      Reply

  2. I’ve always been naturally thin for most of my life. It wasn’t until I hit about 34 that I began to put on a few pounds. That being said I ate whatever I wanted. Several months ago I decided that I had it with my current weight (which isn’t that bad) and that I wanted a change. I now read several healthy eating blogs and I am slowing moving my entire family into the “clean eating” idea.

    It’s been an adjustment and though I will once and a while have things that have preservatives, etc in them, mostly I am doing much more fresh cooking and whole foods now.

    Reply

    • I so agree. I’m naturally thin also, but a few years ago I realized that there’s a difference between being thin and being fit. I was thin, but not fit, at all. It took more effort to get back in shape – about 6 months, whereas in my 20s I could work out for two weeks, and…presto.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Robyn on August 25, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Tracy

    Our bodies can do anything, as long as they are healthy.

    I am working on recovery from an Eating Disorder. I LOVE to cook and bake and do my best to enjoy wholesome and healthy foods. I love this time of year b/c of all the fresh produce.

    I have to continually keep in mind that I need to eat more wholesome healthy foods and allow myself to relax, eat and enjoy fun foods too (M&M shake from the drive-in/ desserts that other people make ect.) What is right for others (based on society influences) is NOT right for me (restricted eating and OCD exercise) at this time.

    Good Luck to you and your family this week. Hope all goes well w/ your Dad.

    Enjoying your blog.
    Robyn

    Reply

    • My best of luck to you. Knowing what is right for you and what will work for you, without comparison to others, is a great achievement already!

      Reply

  4. Posted by Sheila on August 26, 2010 at 12:14 am

    In the summer Chris plants an amazing garden. SO we eat fresh and very healthy for a long time. We even learned how to “put up peaches” and can a few other assorted veggies. Love the blog!

    Reply

  5. […] sluggish.  Also, now that the heat is running, your skin may be getting more dry.  Debbie at Food-Loose warns that if you feel tired and dried-out, you may be […]

    Reply

Leave a comment