I Gotta Feeling

I got a new electronic gadget.  It came with instructions.  In 12 languages.  I will never, ever read it…but I’ll keep it on hand for reference if  when my gadget goes haywire.  And it will.  Trust me.

Don’t ya sometimes wish that people came with instruction manuals?  When something goes haywire, wouldn’t it be so nice to reach for step-by-step instructions?  Emotional breakdown..page 102.  Mid-life crises…page 64.  Stress overload…page 88. 

An instruction manual would also be great for decision-making.  Lately, it seems like every which way I turn there is a choice to be made.   This week, my brain is tired from so much deciding.  Major – should I attend a very joyous wedding and very sad funeral in the same weekend?  Moderate – Should I work until midnight to meet a deadline? Minor – Roast beef or chicken?  After a while, it all just seems to blend together into one big decision called LIFE. 

If you read The Decision Bell in the previous post, the reader decided to follow her heart and did not take the job.  I think that when it comes to major life decisions, it’s good to listen to opinions and advice from others, but in the end, only you know what is right for YOU.  That’s called listening to your gut.  Not your brain.  Not your heart. 

You don’t need to be psychic to have an intuitive self.  Being intuitive simply means that you know what is right for YOU, independent of any logical reasoning or emotional upswell.  Often, we don’t understand why our intuition is sending us in a certain direction…we simply go. 

All it takes is to step back, take a deep breath, and listen to your inner voice. 

I get intuitive messages from myself all the time.  I think of it as my invisible instruction manual.  I don’t always listen to these inner messages, but I get them.  Truthfully,  if I paid more attention to them over the years, I would have avoided some pitfalls, but such is life.  What I’ve learned is that when I ignore my gut instincts, I’m usually taking the wrong path.  When something feels wrong, it usually is.  But, what that little voice inside my head tells me something is right…I need to trust it…even if I don’t quite understand why. 

Something’s telling me it’s going to be a good weekend, so I’m signing off with the Peas…

I gotta feeling, oo, oo, that tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good good night

Do you typically listen to your intuition?

3 responses to this post.

  1. I am learning to slow down and listen more. In the past I’ve fitted inklings or feelings and have ignored them only later to find out I should have listened. For me it’s hard to determine what is intuition and what is my worry wart side. For me, at least, the key is to slow down, calm down, and just listen.

    Reply

  2. Yes, I try to listen to my intuition. But sometimes my kids are yelling too loud so I don’t always hear it.

    Reply

  3. Posted by suzicate on October 6, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    There have been a few times I’ve regretted not following my gut feeling. I am getting much better at listening.

    Reply

Leave a comment