H: Hi Honey, I’m Home

This weekend, I’ll be spending the entire weekend at home.  That’s 48 hours…in a row.  I haven’t spent a weekend at home in a while.  There is something just so familiar and comforting about being home.  Isn’t there?

IMG_2776

Over the years, I’ve made the Letter L across the country.  I grew up in Pennsylvania, moved to Southern California, hopped up to Seattle, then retraced it all in reverse. 

Sometimes I miss living in California, but Pennsylvania will always be home to me.  Even when I lived on the west coast, I continued to call western Pennsylvania home.  There’s a deep meaning attached to the word home that isn’t as tangible at the word house. 

The meaning of home can be different for everyone.  To me, home is a place of companionship, where people share your life in all-encompassing, deep and meaningful ways.  A home can be any place, big or small, and it doesn’t have to have a roof.  A home is like a magnet…a place that pulls you close and makes it hard to leave.

Where do you call home? 

If you missed the Glitter & Glam Giveaway, backtrack to Friday and enter to win!  Entries will be accepted until 9PM on Monday.

If you liked this post, you may also like Place Matters.

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by 1959duke on April 9, 2011 at 9:06 am

    There is something about taking a break for awhile. These married folks who say they are together all the time and never have a problem must be from Mars. My wife and I are dealing with this now. I can’t drive for at least another months or so. Her company allows her to work from home. We talked about this yesterday. We are simply tired of looking at each other.

    Reply

  2. Wonderful post, Tracy!

    Well, being a fellow-Pennsylvanian myself, I know what you mean. I moved from here to Florida, where I lived for 20 years. I NEVER thought I would EVER move back because I was very happy in Florida. However, when I turned 45 something called me back to my roots.

    I’m so glad I decided to heed the call and move back. I truly love the northeast.

    It’s like you shared….I’m home.

    Enjoy your 48hrs at home, my friend!

    P.S. love the photo!

    Reply

    • Happy Saturday, Ron! I never thought I would move back either…but that’s how you think when you’re 20 and 30 something. By my mid 30s, family became too important to be on the opposite coast.

      Reply

  3. Lovely and so true. Though I’ve called this place I’ve lived for almost thirty years home, there’s nothing like the place where I grew up…and yer when I’m there it’s always good to return to my now home. Maybe it’s just good to have a couple of places to call home.

    Reply

    • I never thought about it that way, but YES, I think it IS possible to have more than one place a person calls home. Hope you’re having a GREAT weekend!

      Reply

  4. I like the photo. Very interesting reflections. It does your post justice. Warm and inviting like home.

    I wonder if one must spend a long time in one place to have those feelings that “this is home”. I don’t know where home is for me. I feel at home with my husband where I am. If I lose him, I may not feel at home. We’ve been here less than two years. I also miss my family in Florida, yet, I’m not sure I feel as though I left home. Missing them is real, indeed. Blessings to you, Tracy…

    Reply

  5. it’s wonderful being ‘home’ even if only for 48 hours! here via A to Z challenge.

    http://meanderingwithmiche.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  6. Posted by yadayadafishpaste on April 9, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I think you capture the meaning of “home” very well! I have to agree with that definition. I’ve just returned from six months in the States. My fiance is originally from Scranton, Pennsylvania. I’ve spent my time in Kansas. He still has family in Pennsylvania and another friend of mine also lives there. I would love to see it. I get a feeling I would like it very much!

    I love the alphabet letter challenge. Pity I only saw it now 😦 I think I’ll be popping back here regularly. I enjoyed your post 🙂

    Reply

  7. After getting married and moving away, my daughter gave me a little bear with a sign that says, “Home is where your mom is.” I grew up in W.Va., have lived in Va. for the last 30+ years. I was torn as to where home was until my mother passed, now this has become “home” to me. Enjoy your weekend. Hope it refreshes you.

    Reply

  8. As one of a unique breed, I’m sure, I’ve lived in the same community all my life. It would be difficult to think of another place as home.

    Reply

  9. Home. It’s the underlying message in my fantasy novel. It is as though my characters are all struggling to get there.

    For me, home is Liscomb Mills, a place I’ve never lived, but spent half my childhood, a place I am drawn to yet sometimes don’t want to go. I’ve lived the first 29 years of my life in Cole Harbour and I feel that place is mine though it has changed much. I’ve lived here for 14 years yet don’t feel connected to the land or the people. I could move tomorrow and miss nothing. I lived in Alberta for a short time, but knew it was only temperary, so never considered it a home. It was the same was in Truro.

    However, when I top the hill overlooking the valley in Liscomb Mills, something deep inside stirs. I get excited to see the water, the trees and smell the air. It is as though I’ve come home once again. Perhaps it is the happy memories, or that my father’s family have lived there since the 1880s and many still do. Or maybe it is the connection with the land and ocean that ground me to that spot. Either way, I will return there for as long as I’m alive and perhaps have a home there some day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

