B: My Brother Bobby and the Blue and Brown-Eyed Beast

I have one brother – He prefers Bob or the more formal, Robert.   I’m the big sister, so he’ll always be Bobby to me.  Also, Bobby is easier to say when you’re referring to the three of us siblings down the line:  Tracy, Debbie, Bobby.

I guess my parents had a thing for names that end in the eeeee sound.  It’s more fun to yell at kids, too, when you can string out their name in the middle…and the end.  I can still hear my dad yelling for at me now…

Traaaaaaaaaaaacyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Bobby is nearly 13 years younger than me.  When I was in high-school, he was in pre-K.  When I went to college, he was 5. 

It was great to have a little kid around the house in those days.  I can still remember him playing with his He-Man toys and plastic dinosaurs while I was studying for the college entry exams.

Bobby

By the time Bobby entered the picture, the family dog was getting up there in years.  Her name was Beast.  You didn’t misread that – Beast was her name.  She had one blue eye and one brown eye.  Every time she would make a run for it, my sister and I would have to walk around the neighborhood looking for her, yelling…

Heeeere, Beast!  Heeeeere, Beast!

That’s enough to traumatize a teenaged girl.  But add to that Beast-calling walk…a baby stroller containing your little brother, and….you’d rather the dog stayed home and you’d run away yourself.

Have a great weekend everyone!  Be back at you on Monday with the letter C.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by susan on April 2, 2011 at 8:53 am

    Very nice picture of you and your brother. I can’t believe that your dog was named Beast! Who in the world came up with that name?

    Reply

  2. He played with plastic dinosaurs when he was little? I still play with mine. I’m 61. Maybe now I am a dinosaur.

    Reply

    • It’s okay to never grow up. My brother is now an archaeologist so he’s still out there playing in the dirt like he did when he was little.

      Reply

  3. This image of you searching and calling for Beast totally made my morning! My parents had a thing for the eeee also when naming the kids. Five out of six had it. funny thing is that the oldest would have had it if they’d called her by her first name but they chose to call her by her middle name. Of course, after she grew up she preferred everyone call her by her fist name…never realize maybe that helped her fit into the fold.

    Reply

    • Glad to jump start your morning! E-ending names were so popular back when we were growing up. Today, baby names are getting more and more unusual.

      Reply

  4. “I guess my parents had a thing for names that end in the eeeee sound.”

    HA! My parents too! Sandy, Frankie, Ronnie!

    What a wonderful photo of you and Bobbie! And I love the name of your dog, Beast.

    There are ‘certain’ customers I meet throughout my day that I also call…..BEAST!

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA!

    Have a FAB weekend, Tracy!

    Reply

  5. Posted by 1959duke on April 2, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    What a wonderful picture!

    Reply

  6. My brother is ten years younger than I. He’s a great brother, too. I enjoyed your tale of the Beast-calling venture with your brother in a stroller. Ha! Blessings to you, Tracy…

    Reply

  7. Sweet story about your brother Bobby. It’s a great name, and yes, fun to string out the vowels!

    Reply

    • I could brag about him all day long – the long-ago stories are fun to remember but I hope there are even sweeter story lines yet to be written about him. Thanks for visiting fellow A-Z-er.

      Reply

  8. Great post. Sorry for your loss. Glad you have cake and family to help you through it.
    Yes, I have had grief in my life. And prayer, good support system, chocolate and time helped me.
    Thanks for the comment on my blog. I really like Linken Park too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

