Get Ready for the A-Z Challenge

When was the last time that you thought about the alphabet?  The 26 letters that form the words that we write….   The building blocks of our ability to communicate and understand each other…

If you answered “it’s been a long time,” look down at your hands.  I’ll bet you are using the alphabet right now, without even thinking much about it.

hard working hands

Photo (c) Dreamstime/Lemonpink

Communicating without words and letters is hard.  I’m absolutely terrible at charades.  One time I was trying to act out Clint Eastwood and everyone thought that I was a horse with a hat.  

The alphabet was more fun when I was a toddler, had 6-sided letter blocks to play with, and The Alphabet Song to sing. 

Back then, because of the song, my sister thought that LMNOP was one letter, called the elemenopee.  Sing the song and you’ll understand.  They kind of all run together.  (Sorry sis, someone’s gotta embarrass you once in a while.)

dreamstimefree_807232 © Spirokwok

Photo (c) Dreamstime/Spirokwok

When I came upon The A-Z Blogging Challenge, I thought it would be a good diversion from my usual blogging topics and a great distraction from the events of last week

During the month of April, beginning on the fool’s day of April 1, I will be doing short posts every day, except Sundays, inspired by a letter of the alphabet.  There are about 800 other bloggers (so far) signed up to participate in this challenge.  My goal and personal self-challenge is to be unique and not duplicate titles or topics that another blogger uses.  That’s a tall order, particularly on the rarely-used-letter days. 

Almost everyone has a lucky number, but not a favorite letter.  If you had to pick your favorite letter of the alphabet, which letter would you choose? 

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by susan on March 30, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    I think the Cookie Monster from Sesame Street convinced me that my favorite letter should be C.

    Reply

    • Oh C is for cookie and that’s good enough for me. Cookie, cookie, cookie starts with C! Hahahahahaaa! Wow, that brought back a memory.

      Reply

  2. Posted by 1959duke on March 30, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    I tutor a wonderful man from Sudan. It does make me think about each letter.

    Reply

  3. “Back then, because of the song, my sister thought that LMNOP was one letter, called the elemenopee.”

    Bwhahahahahahahahaha!

    OMG Tracy, that totally cracked me up! How cute!

    Hey, I think it’s GREAT that you’re doing this and look forward to reading your daily alphabet posts in April.

    You GO, girl!

    Let’s see, my favorite letter of the alphabet would have to be F, for faaaaaaaaaaaabulous!

    Reply

    • Faaaaabulous comment! If I remember correctly from your James Lipton answers, I belive your favorite curse word starts with an F, too.

      Reply

  4. There are 26 letters in the alphabet? Are you sure about this? If this is true when did this happen? My mother used only 2 letters when I was a kid. The N and the O. Every word out of her mouth was “No” “No” “No”

    Reply

  5. Posted by Debbie on March 31, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    The letter P of course……because it is in fact “elemeno”
    It must be special for some reason.

    Reply

  6. I love the concept–very original. And given your “Alien Ass” post, I’d say you’re off to a great start! Good luck…looking forward to reading your “B” post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

