What’s the Deal, Yo?

Pink:  Slam slam, oh hot damn…what part of party don’t you understand?

Me:  Apparently, lots of parts.  Gruff!

The scene was spin class at my gym.  My favorite class.  Or, at least it used to be my favorite.  A lot has changed over the past few months.  It’s become popular.  You have to show up 30 minutes early to sign up.  It’s a party that I simply don’t understand.

A break down of the spin room at LA Fitness tonight:

  • 36 bikes;
  • 1 instructor on speed;
  • 32 spinners under the age of 29;
  • 2 spinners over the age of 69;
  • 1 guy with a sweat-drenched shirt (he had taken the prior 2 classes);
  • 6 gangster rap songs;
  • 3 Flo Rida songs;
  • 1 Pink song; and
  • various songs by groups with scary names…like Pitbull, Sick Puppies, Far East Movement, and Waka Flocka Flame.

The other 35 spinning class-goers were singing the words to every song…doing free-for-all dance moves with their upper bodies…adjusting their tension bars on cue…and peddling like mad. 

I wasn’t singing…or dancing from the waist up…or participating in the spontaneous wave.  I thought that only happened at baseball stadiums.  What’s the deal, yo? 

So, if you ever intend to take a spin class at the Pittsburgh-area LA fitness, make sure you practice up on your moves to Flo-Rida, including a serious of hand pumps and finger-points to the perky instructor while belting out your best …Who dat girl, who dat girl, who dat girl??????

 

If someone asked me if I thought I was cool my answer would be hell-ya-yo…for my age and circumstances…unless, of course, it makes me instantly uncool by just saying hell-ya-yo.

Being chameleon-like, I can fit into many different environments without getting super uncomfortable.  A secret desire to bail doesn’t well up inside of me unless I don’t feel safe.  Safety is a huge ticket item for me.  What about you?

Do you easily adapt to different environments?  What pushes you out of your comfort zone?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by duke1959 on February 16, 2011 at 6:56 am

    If you do not feel safe thenhow can you enjoy the experience?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Susan on February 16, 2011 at 7:08 am

    Public speaking pushes me out of the comfort zone. I also don’t like going to parties alone – I’d rather walk in the door with someone.

    Reply

    • Oh, I used to be terrified of public speaking but I have to do it all the time for work now so I learned to overcome the terror. I still get nervous, though.

      Reply

  3. Posted by samantha on February 16, 2011 at 7:11 am

    You’re too school for cool and a party crasher, penny snatcher..that song will be in my head all day. Funny post!

    Reply

  4. I’m like you, I can fit into many different environments without feeling uncomfortable. I think my time spent as actor taught me that – portraying different chacters than onself, opens an actor to MANY environments.

    Learning something new always pushes me out of my comfort zone. But that’s a good thing.

    Reply

  5. I would pay good money to see you in that spin class!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

