Love Defined

Happy Valentine’s Day!

If you don’t already have a motion-sensor monkey that whistles a cat-call when you walk by, I highly recommend the investment.

Monkey

He’s cute..less hairy that some real-life men who’ve whistled in my direction…doesn’t care what you’re wearing…and isn’t expecting a one-night stand or emotional commitment. 

I typically don’t celebrate V-Day.  In fact, Mr. Backbone and I went out to dinner on Friday night totally forgetting about the upcoming holiday.  Our meals were great and the place was giving away free chocolate-covered strawberries for desert.  He had a small bite before I devoured mine and the rest of his. 

Sharing…that’s what love’s all about.  It doesn’t always have to be 50/50…especially when chocolate-covered fruit is involved.

Strawberry IMG_3610

Love is such an over-used word.  We use love so much that it’s meaning has become diluted.  Think about all the different ways that you use the word.

  • I love pizza.
  • I love my new iPhone.
  • I’m not in love with those shoes.
  • I love you.

See what I mean.  If your list is similar to the one above, congratulations.  You’ve just put your significant other in the same category as your relationship with pizza and stilettos. 

The kind of love that we celebrate on Valentine’s Day isn’t the type that arrives at your door in 30 minutes or less.  It is the kind that is shared with another person.  It is the kind that takes time to grow…is acted on with commitment and compassion…and experiences both joy and sorrow.

When asked “What does it mean to love someone,” we would probably all answer that question a little differently.  To come up with an answer, think about all the people in your life that you love.  How do your feelings for these people differ and how are they the same?

The love that I feel from my parents is 40 years in the making.  With my husband…15.  With some of my friends…just a few years.  Regardless of its length, to me love means having a deep emotional connection and commitment to another person and always wanting the best for them. 

Last week on The Bachelor, one of the girls said that she thinks she loves the guy because she wants the best for him, even if that means it doesn’t include her.  I thought that was a wise statement…even though it might have been a ploy to make another girl look selfish in comparison. 

How we show our love varies greatly from person to person.  Some of us wear our hearts on our sleeves…

IMG_3577Sleeve  

…while others show their love in less obvious ways.

However you show yours, get out there today and spread the love

How do you define Love?

As a follow-up to Love, Part 1, my dad is still caring for my mom.  His committment to her continues to be the most selfless, unconditional expression of love that I’ve ever witnessed.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by susan on February 14, 2011 at 9:32 am

    I think true love takes time to mature and is not something that is “at first sight” as some people say except between a parent and their child. Cute monkey – now you’ve got me wanting one of those. Nice post!

    Reply

  2. Love the post (lol!) And I totally agree, love grows, changes, evolves over time.
    Thanks for stopping to see me at Lighten Up! I’ll be back to see you!

    Reply

  3. Now that I realize how badly I overuse and underestimate the word love, I feel I’ve cheapened my almost 29 year marriage…I need a new word, a good replacement word for love! And yes I LOVE the monkey, yes I used it again!

    Reply

    • LOL Suzicate! I LOVE the monkey too, and your blog. Today reminds me of your post Letter to Young Love, which sticks in my mind. See what a lasting effect you have?!! Happy V-Day.

      Reply

  4. I want one of those monkeys! OMG, he’s sooooooooooo cute!!!

    And I think you summed up love perfectly…….

    “to me love means having a deep emotional connection and commitment to another person and always wanting the best for them.”

    Amen, Tracy!

    Hope you had a FAB Valentine’s Day!

    X

    P.S. love the photo of the martini. It’s looks heavenly!

    Reply

    • Nuvo in a martini glass. A pink sparkling liquer found in your favorite adult beverage store! Goes so well with anything chocolate-covered. Hope your V-Day was FAB, too!

      Reply

  5. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Love to me is when I can stand to see someone first thing in the morning. I am NOT a morning person, you see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

