Your Cheerleading Section

With the weekend behind us, I’ve flown off into Business Land again.  The flight was packed with Pittsburgh Steelers fans going home after the big game this weekend.  The Steelers won, but only because the guy sitting beside me during the game was wearing his lucky socks.  At least that’s what he said every time he rubbed them.  

The overhead bins on my flight were filled with black and gold…bags, coats, and even a black and gold leopard printed carry-on that followed me all the way to California. 

The best thing about this business trip (besides leaving the snow behind) is that I’m staying with one of my very best friends, Stacey!  Since I was traveling today, she graciously offered to write today’s post.  You may remember her from The Catalina Eco-Marathon.

Your Cheerleading Section

Guest Post by Stacey

As a parent, I’ve spent a lot of time in the classroom, on the field, in the dugout, and on the court as a coach, team mom, room mom, or  just plain fan.  In these roles, I spend a lot of time telling kids to cheer on their teammates.  I encourage them to give high fives when a classmate achieves a goal.  However,  the message seems to fall on deaf 7-year-old ears. 

I wonder, why don’t the kids always cheer for each other?  As I observe the behaviors of children in a team setting I wonder, is being happy for someone else inherent or is it learned?  Kids can dress the part of teammate and cheerleader, but at what point does the dressing become something more?

Regardless if it is nature or nurture, it’s important for all people, adults included, to have a cheering section.  I have recently realized how much I appreciate it myself.  I didn’t know how much I wanted or needed a cheering section until my husband showed his support for my running and marathon training.  We have been married a long time and although he has always been my best friend, I never felt more supported than when I found him “bragging” about my running efforts to his friends.  I am not Lightning Flash but he was impressed and had to tell the world.  It was to the point of embarrassment sometimes because every new person I met through him knew that I was in training.  So, my circle of support and cheerleaders grew. 

The most recent event when I realized the importance of support was during a marathon when a friend joined me on the trip.   She isn’t a runner and was simply there  to cheer me on.  It was so uplifting.  She was there at the starting line, during the race, and at the finish line.  Having someone there to take pictures and to be proud of me was really special and meant so much.  Knowing that I have a cheering section makes me want to reach even bigger goals, because I know that my cheering section will keep on cheering.

 Do you think people are naturally happy for others or is it a learned behavior?  Who are your cheerleaders?

If you liked this post, you may also like Between the White Lines.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Actually, in local youth sports, I DO notice the girls’ teams always cheering for each other, in everything from softball to team gymnastics. Boys, too, when encouraged, though they don’t seem as natural at it.

    In any event, we all do need a cheerleading section – much more than we need a “critic” section. (We’ve usually got one of those built into our own heads.) Good to see from the pics you’ve got a good cheerleading section.

    Reply

    • I so agree – everyone needs people in their corner, during the good times…and the bad. As an adult, I’ve veered away from team sports and every once in a while I wish someone would give me a high five for accomplishing something monumental, like the laundry :-).

      Reply

    • Posted by Stacey on January 18, 2011 at 4:52 pm

      I am so glad that you are seeing the kids cheering. I think it is so important for people to understand that having joy for someone else is kind of like the joy of giving a gift, you get joy and happiness from the giving. Having joy/happiness from both your own accomplishments and others just makes for a happier life all around.

      Reply

  2. I so agree with you Stacey! It’s very important to not only HAVE a cheerleading section, but also BE a cheerleading section for someone else. And not only when it comes to sports, but for everything.

    Like when someone is new on the job; giving them a warm welcome and congratulating them when they do a good job.

    Or, when someone starts a new blog; cheering them on and giving them confidence that their voice is being heard and enjoyed.

    “is being happy for someone else inherent or is it learned? ”

    I think being happy for someone else is naturally inherented. But as we get older, and life starts programing us that there’s not enough success to go around, we may start to get competitive and begin holding back on cheerleading for others.

    I’ve always believed that the best way to be successful, is be genuinely happy for someone else’s success.

    Beacause what comes around, goes around.

    Wonderful guest post, Stacey! Thank you for sharing it!

    P.S. I hope you’re having a great time in California, Tracy!

    Reply

    • I’m California dreaming for a few more days. It’s nice to see that big yellow ball in the sky we can a sun that’s been missing in Pittsburgh for the past 2 months.

      “life starts programming us that there’s not enough success to go around, we …begin holding back on cheerleading for others.” Interesting perspective, Ron. I do see this in the business world sometimes, and it partly derives from jealousy.

      Reply

    • Posted by Stacey on January 18, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      I also agree that being part of a cheerleading section is just as important as having one. I started trying to tell people the positive things I notice about them a few years back and I have to say it never fails to bring a smile to both the recipient and the giver of the “cheer”.

      Reply

  3. I never realized how important is was to have a cheering section until after my book came out and I began to actually meet other writers. All those years before I really did spend writing in solitude. I didn’t know any different. But now I gotta say, it’s nice to have people to not only cheer me on, but to help lift me up when those disappointments come along. I have also found that cheering someone else on is a pretty nice feeling in itself. Great post, Stacey and Tracy!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Stacey on January 20, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Thank you Laura. I am glad you liked it. How exciting to write a book. I can imagine it can be a lonely job and so glad you have people in your corner to keep you going in both high and low times.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

