Last Day of the Year – Don’t Waste It

It’s the last day of the year.  Whew!  

Let’s rewind a few days.  Before making the decision to break up with 2010, we gave the year one last chance to be kind.  Off we went for a romantic evening at the Omni Bedford Springs in Bedford, PA. 

The hotel was pretty amazing.  It’s one of the few remaining pre-Civil War resorts in this part of the country.  And best of all, it’s been completely renovated and restored to 5-Star standards.

I don’t have many indulgences, but historic resorts and spas are my weakness.  I loved the lobby so much, hugs were in order.

The spa uses mineral water from the property’s natural springs.  Nice!

The hallways are lined with historic photographs.  Very nice!

The pre-dinner bar bill for 3 drinks was $46.  Okay, stop right there.  My foot immediately slammed on the brakes.  Errrrrrrk!

Mr. Backbone saw it immediately in my eyes.  Inter-brain mathematics.  What the hell did we order?  Liquid gold?  Did the bartender mistakenly hear us say “drinks on us” to the other couples sitting at the bar?   What the…????? 

Over dinner, referring to the incident in question, he asked me “Are you afraid of success?”  Ya see, this was his way of nicely asking why I freaked about the bar bill.

“No” I said, “I’m not afraid of success.  And if money comes with it, that would be alright with me.  What I am afraid of…and what I hate more than anything else is…well………is waste.”

It may be a personality quirk (or you may call it a flaw or a way of thinking passed down from my frugal parents), but I can’t stand the feeling that I wasted something.  In my mind, spending too much money for something not worth the expense is wasting hard-earned cash.  And, I never throw things in the garbage that someone else could use.  I find alternative uses for old items.  Or, I box them up for charity.   Although I give away more than I keep, there are some items that I can’t part with…because some day, for some off-the-wall reason, someone’s gonna want the slightly used 5-foot Elvis that’s stored in my basement…right?

Sometimes my hatred of waste goes too far.  It gets in the way of enjoying life.  Other times, it’s a blessing.  Like when you need a cardboard Elvis on short notice.  One of my goals for 2011 is to put my attitude about waste into a more balanced perspective.

Most New Year Resolutions focus on doing something.  Exercising more.  Eating healthier.  Quitting a bad habit.  You know the drill. 

I challenge you to think about the BACKBONE of your personality.  Does anything need to be brought into balance to make 2011 a better year?  Do any pressures need to be relieved?

How are you spending (or did you spend) New Years Eve?  Do you (did you) have a hot date?

Remember to check back on Monday for a recap of my first date with 2011.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful hotel!

    Love the historical atmosphere. The lobby looks so quaint and cozy!

    I live in PA, so I need to check this out.

    I don’t have many indulgences either, however a weekend spent here would be heaven!

    Even though I don’t considered myself wasteful, while living in Japan for a summer, I never realized how wasteful I could be at times. The Japanese are very conscious of waste.

    I’m with you, I would consider 3 drinks for $46 pretty wasteful myself. It’s true, spending too much money for something not worth the expense is wasting hard-earned cash. I’m a bit conservative when it comes to spending money. If it’s not something I really need, I don’t buy it.

    Being a Libra, I’m all about finding the balance in my life. One of things I had to learn in balancing was blogging (and still do). It can be consuming at times.

    I’ll be spending this New Years Eve at home, quiet and relaxing. Especially after my month of retail insanity – HA!

    Happy New Year, Tracy!

    Wishing you an awesome 2011!

    Reply

  2. Happy New Year to you, also, Ron. I wish you a full recovery from retail insanity! Pretty cool that you lived in Japan for a while. I would love to visit there someday.

    Reply

  3. Oh wow, that place does look amazing. I’d love it there.

    Reply

  4. I flip over the expense of buying drinks out…imagine my surprise when hubby and I went to Ruth’s Chris for our anniversary and he decided to order a bottle of wine, after having a glass first…he was NOT wearing his glasses and thought it was a $30 bottle…ends up it was an $80 bottle. It was nice, but not THAT nice! After being married 28 years, I guess we deserved a nice bottle of wine, but I kept thinking about those who didn’t have money to eat and we had just wasted that much money on a bottle of wine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

