The End of Year Break-Up

Ending a relationship over the holidays is very difficult.  But, when you’re not happy and believe deep in your heart that you will never be happy, breaking up is the right thing to do. 

I took some time this past week to reflect on a close relationship that I’ve been in for about a year…

…and I decided that it needs to end.

Although deciding to break-up was a difficult decision, an even harder thing to decide is how to tell my soon-to-be Ex.

  • Face-to-face? 
  • Over the phone?
  • By writing a letter? 
  • By asking a friend to break the news for me?

I know that sending a Dear John letter is very impersonal, but in this case, I think a letter is the right way to go. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear 2010,

I am writing this letter to say good-bye.  We had some good times during our year together…and I will remember them fondly.  But we argue too much, which hasn’t been good for the relationship.  You were always testing me.  I was always fighting back.  You were always trying to keep me down.  I always wanted to outshine you. 

I realize that you may want to know why I’m breaking up with you.  Without going into a lot of painful detail, I’ll just say that all of the classic reasons are in play.

1.  You didn’t get along with my family.  In fact, you caused us a lot of pain 

2.  You were not good with money and your future financial stability didn’t look very promising. 

3.  You were always good about giving, but even better about taking away.

4.  Our political and religious views were too different.

5.  And lastly, you had a lot of passion and potential, but lacked the stamina to keep it up.  And everyone knows that when there are long-term problems in that department, it’s time to call it quits. 

Things started out so good, but the chemistry faded.  The spark is gone.  It’s time for both of us to move on and find happiness elsewhere.  You were a good year, but we just weren’t meant to be together forever. 

Please don’t contact me again.  I’ve hired a matchmaker and already have a blind date lined up for Friday night.  His name is 2011.

Luv,

    

  How will you remember 2010?  Was it a good year for you?

  

15 responses to this post.

  1. Love it. Hello Mr. 2011!

    Reply

  2. First, I gotta say that I LOVE the photo you used in this post. What a gorgeous shot, Tracy!

    Yes, ending a relationship is tough, and even tougher during the holidays. But, after reading your awesome letter I know you did the right thing. The reasons you listed are very important reasons. I think we all can sense ‘deep down’ when it is time to end a relationship, but it’s still difficult to do it. I totally understand.

    I enjoyed 2010. I definitely had some challenging months here and there, but all in all, it was a very good year. Even the challenging things taught me stuff, so I can honestly say that I’m grateful for them.

    I look forward to what 2011 brings me!

    Reply

    • Thanks Ron. The photo was taken Christmas morning. I went outside for a walk because the White Christmas (before the snow plows passed) was just too beautiful not to experience.

      I’m so glad that you had a great year, and cheers to 2011!

      Reply

  3. Thanks for posting this — it made me laugh out loud! 2010 was a good year for me, but I could have totally written points #1, 2, and 3 about 2008.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sheila on December 29, 2010 at 3:28 am

    I love this Tracy. Praying that 2011 will be a GREAT friend to you and your family:)

    Reply

    • Me too! It can’t get much worse than my family had it in 2010…or at least let’s hope not. Cheers to you and yours in the New Year. I wish you a much better year as well.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Andie on December 29, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    I loved this profound post. What a great idea writing a Dear John and putting the past to rest. I may do something similiar and include a small thank you note. After all, even in the worst of times, in the midst of the struggles, and in the most rotten of relationships, we can always learn and grow and hopefully expand our hearts. I extend open arms and a warm heart to the New Year.

    Reply

  6. If I could wipe the bad memories of 2010 out of my mind I would. Short of that, we can only pray that time is a good teacher and the lessons we learn make us stronger. You are so right about that!

    Reply

  7. Haha! Fun post. At first, I was wondering how you could be talking abuot breaking up with someone before doing it on a public blog. LOL

    I like 2010 a LOT, but I just have a really great feeling about 2011 and can’t wait for it.

    Reply

  8. Posted by mjcache on December 30, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Brilliant and clever blog.

    I’ve been out with 2010 (I’m sure he wasn’t two-timing us) and I dumped him for the same well articulated reasons – I didn’t have the common courtesy to inform him, in two days time, I’m just not seeing him anymore. Gee, He draaaaaggggged on.

    Best of luck with 2011…I don’t think you’ll won’t need it, compared to 2010 it will be wonderful.

    Reply

  9. I have to admit that you got me with this piece. It is brilliant. I expected you tpo be telling me how your breakup with a lover went. Since this is my first visit, I could not determine if you were male or female. Then, as the piece unfolded I realized the brilliance of it all.
    You are my new hero.

    Reply

  10. Great post. Love it!

    2010 was a pretty good year, but I have a feeling 2011 will be even better.

    Reply

  11. Wishing you many beautiful blessings with 2011!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

