Clowning Around

If you haven’t yet entered the Beautiful You Giveaway, there’s still time.  Entries will be accepted until midnight on Thursday.  Good luck!

Let’s get today’s post going with a hardy-har-har…

  • There were two clowns walking through the jungle. 
  • A group of cannibals captured the clowns and cooked them for lunch. 
  • While they were eating, the one cannibal said to the other,
  •  “Does this taste funny to you?”

That, my friends, is the very first thing that my father said to the recovery room nurses when he woke up from surgery a few days ago.  I’m sure he was loopy from the anesthesia.  But.  Seriously.  How many people can rip out a joke immediately upon waking up from a major surgery?  Not many, I’m sure.

If you knew my dad, you wouldn’t be surprised.  He’s always telling jokes.  Some funny.  Some not.  Some appropriate.  Some definitely not.  He’s always trying to get people to raise an eyebrow, crack a grin, or get red in the face. 

  • Like when he wears a plastic set of Hillbilly teeth when meeting someone new. 
  • Or when he puts a whoopee cushion on grandma’s chair at Thanksgiving dinner. 
  • Or when he puts a rubber rat in a real mousetrap for the housekeeper to find. 

Too often, he finds out what irritates someone and uses it to get under their skin.  A few weeks ago he covered my fridge with Democratic candidate magnets.  Very funny, Dad.  I guess you’re still not happy about me switching sides. 

There are a lot of different kinds of funny.  People tell me that I’m goofy funny.  I’m not easily embarrassed and like to crack myself up.  I mostly do things that amuse myself rather than aiming to make other people laugh.  More people may laugh at me than with me, but I don’t care.  Being able to laugh at myself has always come easy. 

Some things that people find funny, I just don’t get.  Like South Park.  Or jokes about religion and topics that are insulting, tasteless, and disrespectful. 

Whether you are funny yourself or simply find other people and situations funny, having a sense of humor is an important part of human relations.  Some studies have even shown that having a good sense of humor can make you happier and healthier.  I’ve been battling a cold for the past week, undoubtedly brought on by stress.  Could a little laughter be the best medicine?

On a scale of 1-10, how would you rate your sense of humor?  Has anything comical happened in your life lately?

One response to this post.

  1. I think a good sense of humor helps us get through the not so pleasant times. You’re right there are so many different kinds of funny. Your dad sounds like a hoot! My dad has a great funny bone, too, but sounds like your dad is much better at pulling off jokes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

