“Beautiful You” Giveaway

The past two weeks have taught me a valuable lesson.  Which is….don’t forget about yourself when life gets busy.  Dealing with a demanding work schedule, a funeral, family emergencies, and too many other things to mention, resulted in me:

  • stressing out;
  • not getting enough sleep;
  • cutting out exercise;
  • eating on the run; and…ultimately
  • getting sick.

I temporarily forgot (duh!) that it’s absolutely necessary take care of MYSELF to be healthy, happy, and capable of attending to everything and everyone else.   When I put myself aside, it’s usually the first sign of trouble.

So, it was very appropriate that today The Chameleon’s Backbone was scheduled to post a review of the new book, Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary. 

 Beautiful You: A Practical Guide to Radical Self-Acceptance

For a chance to win a free copy of the book, simply click the comment button above and enter a one word comment, finishing this sentence …

“I love my beautiful _____________________” . 

The winner will be selected at random and announced on The Chameleon’s Backbone on Friday. 

Beautiful You, A Daily Guide to Radical Self-Acceptance is not one of those books that you will spend hours at a time reading curled up in your favorite chair.  Instead, take a journal to that chair…read a page or two of Molinary’s suggestions…and then pick an activity to accomplish that day or that week.  The book contains 365 suggestions to improve a woman’s self-awareness, self-esteem, and promote a healthy body image.  These include journaling about different topics, doing various activities, helping others, taking time for yourself, watching certain movies, etc.

Some are easy, like #291 “Drink Tea.”  In fact, I have a cup of tea beside me right now…in my favorite cup…

Others are more time-consuming, like #69 “Ditch What Doesn’t Fit.”   I’m overdue for a closet clean-out.

And others are ongoing commitments to change, like #157 “Forgive Others.” 

I found that by skimming through the book, there were some suggestions that really resonated with me. There is enough variety included that there is definitely something for everyone. 

Plowing through the book over 365 consecutive days is probably not practical for most of us.  But, don’t let that deter you.  I took my copy, looked through the table of contents, turned to the pages that interested me, and marked them as easy, medium, or difficult.  That way, I can approach them as time allows.  I think I’ll get started right now with #266 “Love an Animal.” That’s an easy one that  I can do every day. 

I love you Buster!

Don’t forget to enter the drawing for a chance to win a free copy of Beautiful You.  Click the comment button above and submit one word that finishes the sentence I love my beautiful ________________” .  The winner will be selected at random and announced on this site on Friday.   If you win, I will contact you by e-mail for your mailing address. 

Have a beautiful day! 

13 responses to this post.

  1. “I love my beautiful butt. its so cute!”

    Reply

  2. Posted by Emily on October 18, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    smile

    Reply

  3. Posted by JW on October 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    “I love my Beautiful inner self!”

    Reply

  4. Posted by Nicole on October 18, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Eyes!

    Reply

  5. Posted by steph0402 on October 18, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    personality.

    Reply

  6. Posted by jodi on October 18, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    I love my beautiful spirit!

    Reply

  7. I love my beautiful accomplishments.

    Reply

  8. I love my beautiful apron! How many guys can pull off an apron at work… yeah not many =)

    Reply

  9. I love my beautiful spirit

    Reply

Leave a Reply

