Hey Mr. Postman

This afternoon at work I decided to take a lunch break instead of working through the noon hour at my desk.  When I returned 40 minutes later, there were 22 new e-mails in my in-box.  Whaaa?!!?   I hate when that happens.   Luckily, there were a few I could delete without opening and a few more than were part of a chain.   E-mail overload always kills my day. 

When I was growing up, there wasn’t e-mail, or cell phones, or texting.  If someone wanted to reach me, they would call on the land line or send a letter by mail. 

These days, I hardly ever approach my mailbox with excitement.  Ads, bills, coupons, flyers, donation requests along with 2 dozen return address labels. 

Attention All Charity Organizations – the people of America have enough return address labels to last a century.  Send something better.  Like chocolate.  Or wine.  Or money.  Or concert tickets. 

Going to the mailbox ranks low on my list of daily thrills.  So, this week I was super excited when a few surprises arrived by U.S. Mail. 

Tulips from Amy…

 

A photo book from Stacey…

 

She used Shutterfly to compile a book of photos from our last five years of  “girl trips.”  It has over 90 pages so I know it took her a long time to design.  It was very special because so much time and thought was put into the effort.

 

But the best of all was a letter from Sheila…

I loved receiving this letter because it was very heartfelt.  Yes, the card was nice, but her hand-written words were touching.  I always get a warm feeling when I read someone’s thoughts in their own handwriting.  I don’t get that feeling at all when reading an e-mail.  The fact that a friend took the time to pen a note, fold it, stamp it, and send it off into the government delivery system increases its sentimental value to me. 

A few weeks ago my mother-in-law showed me a letter that I wrote to her when I first started dating her son.  It was kinda cool to see my handwriting from back then, and special to me that she had saved it.  In a shoebox.  Not an e-mail in-box. 

When was the last time that you wrote or received a hand written letter?  Do letters mean more than e-mail?

If you haven’t written a letter in a while, try writing one this weekend.  I’m sure that special person will be super surprised when it arrives!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sheila on October 8, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    So glad you enjoyed the card. In todays “busy” world it is easy to stay in touch with all of the technological devices designed to do so…but a real note in the mail takes on a special meaning, particularly since snail mail is becoming obsolete. I think of you often and decided it was time to show you in a more personal note. I better start thinking about your 50th…I’ll need to be more clever for that Bucket List!! Love your blog. Always insightful and witty…

    Reply

  2. Ha! I like the part about the return labels. This is my first time visiting your blog, and I love the name of it. Very cool;)

    Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by Joslyn! I’ll be doing my first give-away on October 18, so check back if you remember. I poked around your site a little – love the apple pics – makes me want to find an apple tree somewhere!

      Reply

  3. Send something better. Like chocolate. Or wine. Or money. Or concert tickets. – I;m all for that! I love when I get something (card, letter, gift) other than bills in my snail mail! That is so sweet that your MIL saved that letter.

    Reply

  4. I LOVE getting things like that in the mail too. Likely because they are so rare nowadays. I do like the option of contacting someone quickly with email, but it sure is nice to still get things the traditional way too.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Stacey on October 17, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    I realized I haven’t been getting any posts of your blog. I signed up again to see if it will take this time. Mail is good. I very rarely get a personal letter anymore either, so they are treasure. I am glad that you liked the book, I love it mostly because you and our other friends are in it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

